The Department of Buildings
Supporting Information Facts

Department:

People We Serve:

Programs & Initiatives:

City Services

Department of Buildings Phone Numbers

Department of Buildings
120 N. Racine
Chicago, IL 60607

E-mail: For help or questions, please send e-mail to: buildings@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3600

Commissioner Felicia Davis:
Telephone: 312.744-3412
 
Boilers:
Michael Ryan  
E-mail: michael.ryan@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3540
 
Building Registration:

Telephone: 312.743.7063
 
Certificate of Occupancy: Scott Franckowiak
E-mail: scott.franckowiak@cityofchicago.org
Jack Hammersmith
john.hammersmith@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3531

Construction Equipment Bureau:
Catherine Harris  
E-mail: catherine.harris@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0417
 
Demolition:
Jorge Herrera
E-mail: jorge.herrera@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3556
 
 Easy Permit Process:
Debra Vallone  
E-mail: debra.vallone@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.8615 & 744.7421
 
Electrical:
E-mail: keith.hall@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3622
 
Elevator:
Gary Bock 
E-mail: gary.bock@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.7308

Freedom of Information (FOIA) Requests:
Ed Doherty
Telephone: 312.744.3416
For FOIA request, e-mail DOBfoia@cityofchicago.org

Iron:
Telephone: 312.743.3598
 
Licensing & Registration:
Continental Testing Services
800-359-1313

Media
Mimi Simon
312.743.7204


Neighborhood Permit Center: North:
Open Thursdays and Fridays only  
Address: 2550 W. Addison
Chicago, IL  
Telephone: 312.742.2560
 
Neighborhood Permit Center: South:
Open Mondays only  
Address: 2006 E. 95th St.
Chicago, IL  
Telephone: 312.745.0995
 
Neighborhood Permit Center: Southwest:
Open Tuesday & Wednesday only  
Address: 4770 S. Kedzie
Chicago, IL  
Telephone: 312.745.4240

New Construction:
Scott Franckowiak
E-mail: scott.franckowiak@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0406 or 312.743.7205

Occupied Buildings:
Irma Rodriguez 
E-mail: Irma.Rodriguez@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3512 or 3504

Online Permit Assistance:
Telephone: 312.744.8204
 
Plumbing:
John Flynn  
E-mail: john.flynn@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.7477
 
Refrigeration:
Robert O'Mara  
E-mail: robert.o'mara@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: .312.743.3562
 
Regulatory Review:
E-mail: robert.fahlstrom@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.9093
 
Sewer Engineers:
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 804
Telephone: 312.744.3351
 
Sewer Licensing:
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 804
Telephone: 312.744.3020
 
Sewer Permits:
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 804  
Telephone: 312.744.3155
 
Special Inspections:
E-mail: DOBSIP@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3610
 
Standard Plan Review:
Telephone: 312.744.7975
 
Strategic Task Force:
William Bugajski  
E-mail: william.bugajski@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.7235 or 0411
 
Technical Reviews:
Asif Rahman  
E-mail: asif.rahman@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7697
 
Vacant Buildings Division:
Telephone: 312.743.3554
 
Ventilation:
Robert Bernacki  
E-mail: robert.bernacki@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3573

Voluntary Compliance:

The Voluntary Compliance Program offers additional time to comply building violations that have been written during a recent inspection.  Qualifying buildings must be owner occupied, 3 units or less (no mixed use or commercial), and have no history of building violations or enforcement action.  Buildings with dangerous and hazardous conditions are not accepted.  Please contact Allison Sullivan for further information.
E-mail: allison.sullivan@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3522