The Department of Buildings
Supporting Information Facts

Department:

People We Serve:

Programs & Initiatives:

City Services

Department of Buildings Contact Information

Commissioner's Office:
Telephone: 312.744-8670

Administrative Hearings:
400 West Superior, Chicago IL
Clifford Yates & Liam Gallagher
Telephone Court: 312.742.8436
Telephone Office: 312.742.6236
E-mail: Clifford.Yates@cityofchicago.org
E-mail: Liam.Gallagher@cityofchicago.org

Boilers:
Michael Ryan  
E-mail: michael.ryan@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.7284

Building Registration Occupied:
Audrey Taylor
E-mail: Audrey.Taylor3@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.6482
Ron Boykin
E-mail:Ron.Boykin@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7421

Building Registration Vacant:
Sandra Hernandez
E-mail: Sandy.Hernandez@cityofchicago.org
Telephone:  312 743 7059

Certificate of Occupancy:
Scott Franckowiak
E-mail: scott.franckowiak@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0406
Jim Ronzio
E-mail: Jim.Ronzio@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3531

Conservation (Occupied Buildings):
Irma Rodriguez
E-mail: Irma.Rodriguez@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3512

Construction Equipment Bureau:
Catherine Harris  
E-mail: catherine.harris@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0417

Demolition:
Jorge Herrera
E-mail: jorge.herrera@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3556

Electrical:
Mike Reynolds
E-mail: Michael.Reynolds@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3547

Elevator:
Gary Bock
E-mail: gary.bock@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3594

Freedom of Information (FOIA) Requests:
Chris Lynch
For FOIA request, E-mail: DOBfoia@cityofchicago.org

Iron:
E-mail: Gloria.Steele@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.7304

Licensing & Registration:
Continental Testing Services
800.359.1313

Media:
Mimi Simon
E-mail: Mimi.Simon@cityofchicago.org
312.743.7384

New Construction:
Scott Franckowiak
E-mail: scott.franckowiak@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0406
Jim Ronzio
E-mail: Jim.Ronzio@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3531

Permit Information Center:

Click here to check your permit status

Telephone (1): 312.744.3449
Telephone (2): 312.744.7774
E-mail: DoB-info@cityofchicago.org

Project Dox / Hansen:
E-mail: Eplan@cityofchicago.org   

Web Help:
E-mail: dobwebhelp@cityofchicago.org

Easy Permit Process (EPP):
Telephone: 312.744.7421
E-mail: marko.mihajlovich@cityofchicago.org
E-mail: sandy.gonzalez@cityofchicago.org

Sewer Permits:
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 906
Telephone: 312.744.3155

Plumbing:
John Flynn  
E-mail: john.flynn@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0413

Refrigeration:
Robert O'Mara  
E-mail: robert.o'mara@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3562

Regulatory Review:
Robert Fahlstrom
E-mail: robert.fahlstrom@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.9093

Sewer Engineers:
Basil Rhymes
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 906
Telephone: 312.744.3351

Sewer Licensing:
Silvia Marinez
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 906
Telephone: 312.744.3020

Special Inspections Program:
Thomas O'Donnell
E-mail: DOBSIP@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3610

Strategic Task Force:
William Bugajski  
E-mail: william.bugajski@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0411

Vacant Buildings Division:
Don Mitchell
E-mail: Donald.Mitchell@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3580

Ventilation:
Robert Bernacki  
E-mail: robert.bernacki@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3573

Voluntary Compliance:

The Voluntary Compliance Program offers additional time to comply building violations that have been written during a recent inspection.  Qualifying buildings must be owner occupied, 3 units or less (no mixed use or commercial), and have no history of building violations or enforcement action.  Buildings with dangerous and hazardous conditions are not accepted.  Please contact Allison Sullivan for further information.

E-mail: allison.sullivan@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3522