MINUTES OF THE MEETING COMMISSION ON CHICAGO LANDMARKS February 4, 2021

The Commission on Chicago Landmarks held its regularly scheduled meeting on February 4, 2021. The meeting was held virtually and simulcast to the general public via livestreaming. The meeting began at 12:45 p.m.

VIRTUALLY PRESENT:

Ernest Wong, Chairman

Maurice D. Cox, Secretary, Commissioner of the Department of Planning &

Development

Paola Aguirre

Suellen Burns

Tiara Hughes

Lynn Osmond

Richard Tolliver

ABSENT: Gabriel Dziekiewicz, Vice Chairman

ALSO VIRTUALLY PRESENT:

Dijana Cuvalo, Architect IV, Department of Planning and Development Michael Gaynor, Department of Law, Real Estate and Land Use Division Members of the Public Registered to Speak

A digital recording of this meeting is on file at the Historic Preservation Division offices of the Department of Planning and Development and is part of the public record of the regular meeting of the Commission on Chicago Landmarks.

Chairman Wong called the meeting to order. He stated there had been changes with the Commission. He noted that this was his first meeting as Chairman and that in assuming this role, two other roles had become vacant, that of Vice Chairman and that of Chair of the Permit Committee. Chairman Wong announced that Gabriel Dziekiewicz had been appointed by Mayor Lightfoot to serve as Vice Chairman of the Commission and that Paola Aguirre had accepted his request to serve as Chair of the Permit Review Committee and thanked them for assuming those roles.

Chairman Wong then stated that last year Governor Pritzker had signed Public Act 101-0640 making certain amendments to the Open Meetings Act so that the Commission was able to host virtual meetings during the COVID-19 public health emergency provided that certain conditions were met. One of those conditions was that he, as head of the Commission on Chicago Landmarks, determined that an in-person meeting of the Commission on Chicago Landmarks was not practical or prudent. Chairman Wong then made the determination – pursuant to Section 7(e)(2) of the Open Meetings Act – that an in-person meeting of the Commission on Chicago Landmarks was not practical or prudent. Chairman Wong also made a determination pursuant to Section 7(e)(5) that, because of the disaster as declared by the Governor, it was unfeasible for at least one member of the Commission or its chief administrative office to be physically present at the meeting place (inasmuch as there was no physical meeting place).

Chairman Wong then explained the emergency rules governing the conduct of remote public Commission meetings and provisions for remote public participation. In line with the emergency rules, members of the public were encouraged to submit written comments which were posted on the Commission's website 24 hours before the meeting began. Members of the public wishing to speak during the virtual meeting were required to register in advance of the Commission meeting. Chairman Wong then invited those members of the public registered to speak to give their testimony before the commencement of the hearing on the agenda items as outlined in the emergency rules.

1. Approval of the Minutes of Previous Meeting

Regular Meeting of January 7, 2021

Motioned by [COMMISSIONER], seconded by Burns. Approved unanimously (7-0).

Gabriel Dziekiewicz joined the meeting.

2. Preliminary Landmark Designation

PENTECOSTAL CHURCH OF HOLINESS (FORMERLY OUR LADY OF LOURDES) 4208 WEST 15TH STREET WARD 24

Daniel Klaiber presented the report. Resolution to adopt the Preliminary Landmark Recommendation for the Pentecostal Church of Holiness (Formerly Our Lady of Lourdes).

Motioned by Aguirre, seconded by [COMMISSIONER]. Approved unanimously (8-0).

3. Preliminary Landmark Designation

MORTON SALT COMPANY WAREHOUSE COMPLEX WARD 27 1305-1357 North Elston Avenue and 1213-1251 West Blackhawk Street

Kandalyn Hahn presented the report. Resolution to adopt the Preliminary Landmark Recommendation for the Morton Salt Company Warehouse Complex.

Motioned by Burns, seconded by Dziekiewicz. Approved unanimously (8-0).

4. Final Landmark Recommendation

THE MIRACLE HOUSE 2001 North Nordica Avenue

WARD 29

Matt Crawford presented the report. Resolution to adopt the Final Landmark Recommendation for the Miracle House.

Motioned by Tolliver, seconded by Cox. Approved unanimously (8-0).

5. Class L Property Tax Incentive - Application

CONTINENTAL AND COMMERCIAL NATIONAL BANK BUILDINGWARD 42 208 South LaSalle Street

Dijana Cuvalo presented the report. Motion to approve the recommendation to City Council for the Class L Property Tax Incentive for the Continental and Commercial National Bank Building.

Motioned by Cox, seconded by Dziekiewicz. Approved unanimously (8-0).

6. <u>Preliminary Decision on Permit Application for Demolition Pursuant to §2-120-740</u> through §2-120-825 of the Municipal Code

MILWAUKEE AVENUE DISTRICT 1460 North Milwaukee Avenue

WARD 1

Emily Barton presented the report. Vote to approve the partial demolition and reconstruction of 1460 North Milwaukee Avenue

Motioned by Tolliver, seconded by Dziekiewicz. Approved 5-0 with three Commission members voting "Present."

7. Program Committee Report

Report on Suggestions Received from the Public for Possible Chicago Landmark Designations (Deadline for submissions was January 19, 2021)

Richard Tolliver presented the report.

8. Permit Review Committee Reports

Report on Project Reviewed at the January 7, 2021, Permit Review Committee Meeting

Paola Aguirre presented the report from the Permit Review Committee meeting of January 7, 2021 (see attached).

Report on Permit Decisions by the Commission Staff for the Month of January 2021

Larry Shure presented the staff report for the month of January 2021 (see attached).

9. Approval of the Annual Certified Local Government Report for 2020

Dijana Cuvalo reported highlights from the 2020 CLG Report regarding the City's historic preservation program. Resolution to approve the Certified Local Government Annual Report for 2020.

Motioned by Burns, seconded by Dziekiewicz. Approved unanimously (8-0).

10. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:41 p.m.
Motioned by Burns, seconded by Dziekiewicz. Approved unanimously (8-0).
Maurice D. Cox, Secretary
Wattifee D. Cox, Secretary