The Department of Buildings
Supporting Information Facts

Department:

People We Serve:

Programs & Initiatives:

City Services

Important Contact Information

Commissioner's Office:
Telephone: 312.744.8670

Administrative Hearings:
400 West Superior, Chicago IL
Clifford Yates & Liam Gallagher
Telephone Court: 312.742.8436
Telephone Office: 312.742.6236
E-mail: Clifford.Yates@cityofchicago.org
E-mail: Liam.Gallagher@cityofchicago.org

Boiler Inspections:
Michael Ryan  
E-mail: michael.ryan@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.7284

Building Registration Occupied:
Audrey Taylor
E-mail: Audrey.Taylor3@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.6482
Ron Boykin
E-mail:Ron.Boykin@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7421

Building Registration Vacant:
Sandra Hernandez
E-mail: Sandy.Hernandez@cityofchicago.org
Telephone:  312 743 7059

Certificate of Occupancy:
Scott Franckowiak
E-mail: scott.franckowiak@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0406
Jim Ronzio
E-mail: Jim.Ronzio@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3531

Conservation Inspections (Occupied Buildings):
Irma Rodriguez
E-mail: Irma.Rodriguez@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3512

Construction Equipment Inspections:
Catherine Harris  
E-mail: catherine.harris@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0417

Demolition Inspections:
Jorge Herrera
E-mail: jorge.herrera@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3556

Electrical Inspections:
Mike Reynolds, Chief Electrical Inspector
E-mail: Michael.Reynolds@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3547

Tom Walsh, Supervising Electrical Inspector
E-Mail: Thomas.Walsh@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3622

Electrical Permit Review:
Ralph Palombizio
E-mail: Ralph.Palombizio@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7955

Elevator Inspections & Permits:
Gary Bock
E-mail: gary.bock@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3594

Freedom of Information (FOIA) Requests:
Chris Lynch
For FOIA request, E-mail: DOBfoia@cityofchicago.org

Iron Inspections:
E-mail: Gloria.Steele@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.7304

Licensing & Registration:
Continental Testing Services
PO Box 100
LaGrange, Illinois 60525
Telephone: 800.359.1313
Fax: 708.354.9922

Media and Public Affairs:
Mimi Simon
E-mail: Mimi.Simon@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7384

New Construction & Renovation Inspections:
Scott Franckowiak
E-mail: scott.franckowiak@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0406
Jim Ronzio
E-mail: Jim.Ronzio@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3531

Occupancy Placards
Ivan Sanchez
E-mail: ivan.sanchez@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3610

Sign Inspections:
Keith Hall, Supervising Electrical Inspector
E-mail: keith.hall@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7353

Permit Information Center:

Click here to check your permit status

Telephone (1): 312.744.3449
Telephone (2): 312.744.7774
E-mail: DoB-info@cityofchicago.org

Project Dox / Hansen:
E-mail: Eplan@cityofchicago.org   

Easy Permit Process (EPP):
Telephone: 312.744.7421
E-mail: ron.boykin@cityofchicago.org
E-mail: sandy.gonzalez@cityofchicago.org

Demolition/Wrecking Permits:
Marko Mihajlovich
E-mail: marko.mihajlovich@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.9455

Sign Permits:
Mark Izzo
E-mail: mark.izzo@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.3472

Water Management (New Service) Permits:
Telephone: 312.744.7060

Sewer Permits:
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 906
Telephone: 312.744.3155

Plumbing Inspections:
John Flynn  
E-mail: john.flynn@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0413

Plumbing Permit Review
Kevin Kenny
E-mail: kevin.kenny@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7828

Refrigeration Inspections:
Robert O'Mara  
E-mail: robert.o'mara@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3562

Refrigeration Permit Review:
Ronald Gardner
E-mail: ronald.gardner@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7694

Regulatory Review:
Robert Fahlstrom
E-mail: robert.fahlstrom@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.9093

Sewer Engineers:
Patrick Maloney
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 906
Telephone: 312.744.3351

Sewer Licensing:
Silvia Marinez
Address: 121 N. LaSalle Room 906
Telephone: 312.744.3020

Special Inspections Program:
Thomas O'Donnell
Email: DOBSIP@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3610

Strategic Task Force:
William Bugajski  
E-mail: william.bugajski@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.0411

Vacant Buildings Division:
Don Mitchell
E-mail: Donald.Mitchell@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3580

Ventilation Inspections:
Robert Bernacki  
E-mail: robert.bernacki@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3573

Ventilation Permit Review:
Brian Harris
E-mail: brian.harris@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.744.7563

Voluntary Compliance:
The Voluntary Compliance Program offers additional time to comply building violations that have been written during a recent inspection.  Qualifying buildings must be owner occupied, 3 units or less (no mixed use or commercial), and have no history of building violations or enforcement action.  Buildings with dangerous and hazardous conditions are not accepted.  Please contact Allison Sullivan for further information.

E-mail: allison.sullivan@cityofchicago.org
Telephone: 312.743.3522